Ruminations

If the object of my love
Is a lie
What of my love?

I like to think sometimes that
Love is a promise
Fulfilled
When kindred spirits meet again
– yet
Can I say that it is you
That I have recognized​?

If the object of my love
Is a lie
What of my pain?

Did I recognize​ a face in the crowd
And wave at a stranger
Who happened to smile back?

If the object of my love
Is a lie
Am I mourning
The loss of you?
Or the loss of a promise?

If the object of my love
Is a lie,
Only silence
Remains

2 thoughts on “Ruminations

Leave a Reply :) Any feedback is welcomed!

