I Leave Words Behind

tumblr_nifxxuCpyB1u8ckrdo1_500

I leave words behind
Like a trail that tells me where I’m from
Like little candles that save me from the dark
A faded memory of home

I leave words behind
I cling on to the silence between my breaths
It soars within me and swallows me whole
Until I break into a million pieces

I leave words behind
I try to clasp my hand around the unknown
I want it to suffocate
I want it to survive
So I leave words behind

Words are wells in themselves
And as much as I want them to be strong
To hit hard, to be unbreakable
The echo fades within
And I become a shadow of myself

But still I write
I write down fears I thought we wouldn’t carry
Shores that would save us from drowning
Wings that would save us from falling
I write us the life that we once tried living

I try to push those words ahead
To build a shelter made of a thousand flames
Breaking the silence
Breaking the darkness
In the end I write
For us to break free

Leave a Reply :) Any feedback is welcomed!

